Cross pollination 'tween golf and baseball

Cross pollination 'tween golf and baseball

Postby hawg1 » Mon Aug 30, 2010 5:20 pm

Hawg1,
I am a pro, though I'm not an ABS pro... that's not to say that I have all the answers, but I do enjoy looking for them. It's cool to have these 'non golf' athletic conversations with people who have experience in the different fields, so it's great to hear your thoughts. I'd love to hear more about the extra pop or heavy pitches that came your way- you mentioned it in another thread somewhere. Do you have any thoughts on why some pitchers may have been able to do that even though the numbers didn't suggest it? Did anything stand out to you that wasn't in the 'numbers'?
Cheers,
BOM

Let's see.
Perhaps the best place to start is intent. When a baseball pitcher seperates himself / herself from the pack, one the key moments is learning how to stick the bird finger in the catcher's eye (at least that's the version sanitized for polite company).

For 99 per cent of all ball throwers, the last point of contact between the body and the ball is the junction of the fingernail and skin on the bird finger of the throwing hand. That pressure point is the equivalent of P3 in golf, the first joint of the index finger.

Anyone can learn to throw a ball well enough. Getting it to your teamate, somewhere around their chest area, does the job 99 per cent of the time.

But if you want to max out precision, you have to change your intent (sound familiar?).

A pitcher has the intent of poking the target with his/her bird finger. Very often, this target is the catcher's eye. So, quite literally, the pitcher is trying to poke the catcher in the eye. Obviously impossible, given the 60 foot gap between them.