Equipment Modding Question for a Newbie

Equipment Modding Question for a Newbie

Postby eth14dev » Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:46 am

Hi Everyone,

Brand new to the forums. Hope everyone is well. Just starting my journey to switch over from the modern swing to a classical 1930-1940 style swing. My dad in lieu got me a full set of Hogan 73 model apex clubs and have a lot of aspirations to mod them. But want to take baby steps as the amount of personal customization will take a lot of time and money.

Seeing as I am new to the whole customization thing, wanted to ask around ABS from the knowledgable community to ask for clarification on some concepts and input on whether certain ideas may or may not work.

1) First thing is that I am seeking to get what little offset is present in the apex's out. After reading a lot of the posts realized lag recommends the offset being bent out in a way where the center of each shaft aligns with the 3rd groove. Makes sense considering sweet spot.

- a) But another thing he suggests is having a face progession through the set. What I was wondering is first what is face progression? (Tried googling it, but the answers seemed kida all over the place).

- b) From what I have been able to gather, it has something to do with how much the leading edge sticks out in relation to either the center of the hosel or the leading edge of the hosel. Either way. In lag's recommendation is the subtle face progression something that would ideally be built into the clubs design? Or just a just a visual thing and since even if all the clubs' center shaft lines were aligned with the third groove in exatly the same way, due to higher lofted clubs having a flatter face, it would give the visual effect of an increasing face progression, but not that suc a face progression is actually built into the clubs inital design when forging.